Curriculum & How we teach

 How Children Learn at Willow House

For children a day at Willow House is all about learning , fun and play, only  interrupted for moments for eating and resting.   Each experience is part of an  educational  programme, carefully designed for your child and taught by an excellent  team of knowledgeable practitioners supported by the Nursery’s Early Years Teacher.   So whether they are listening to a story, or out in the fresh air hunting for worms, everything is designed to give your child the best head start possible.

Each day activities are planned for all children and babies so that they gain meaningful experiences either directly or  indirectly through the use of  resources, each other and practitioners, combining the EYFS curriculum and principles.   It is a framework which shapes high standards of practice. At our nursery we embrace the EYFS whole heartedly, from activities, resources and staff training through to policies, procedures and management. A child’s  experience in the early years has a major impact on their future life chances.  The Nursery follows a structure of learning, development and care for children from birth to five years old. This is called the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) and it enables your child to learn through a range of activities.

The EYFS seeks to ensure that we provide the level of care which means  parents can be confident that their child will receive a quality experience that supports their development and learning.


A Unique Child every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
Positive Relationships children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a keyperson
Enabling Environments the environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.
Learning and Development children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.
The EYFS principles that guide the work of the Nursery are grouped into four themes and are as follows :

There are six areas of Learning and Development, which help us to observe, plan and assess your child’s activities, based on their individual development and needs.

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language and Literacy
  • Problem Solving, Reasoning and Numeracy
  • Knowledge and Understanding of the World
  • Physical Development
  • Creative Development

This approach ensures that the EYFS meets the overarching aim of improving outcomes and reflects that it is every child’s right to grow up safe; healthy;  enjoying and achieving; making a position contribution; and with economic well-being. Through observation monitoring and assessing your child’s developments and interests we can plan around each child’s individual needs and abilities. Each Child has a Learning Journey file, filled with observations and photographs evidence to support their achievements and meeting their  expected learning goals. A story of their learning here at Willow House Day Nursery You can see this file anytime or at one of our parents evenings.




Willow House Day Nursery, 90 Railway Road, Adlington, PR6 9RB
t: 01257 485467 e:
© 2018 Willow House. All rights reserved.